Current Referees +

Annual Recertification

US Soccer announces new classifications for referees:  Grassroots, Regional, National and Professional

All U.S. Soccer Grassroots Referee (previously 7,8,9) require annual recertification, including online modules and testing.

Additionally, Regional Referees (previously grade 5 & 6) also require an annual fitness test and on-field assessment.

National and Professional Referees recertify directly with U.S. Soccer.

To complete recertification:

  1. Log into your EPSARC account
  2. Register for a Recertification Clinic
    • Grassroots Referees (previous EPA grades 7,8,9)
      • Recertification clinic – online lessons only
    • Regional Referees (previously grades 5, 6 and Emeritus)
      • Advanced clinic – online lessons only
      • Fitness Test – as appropriate
    • Assignors, Instructors, Assessors
  3. Complete Pre-Clinic items:
    • Online modules
    • Online test
    • Current background clearances
      • Must be completed every 5 years
    • SafeSport training
      • Must be refreshed every year
  4. In-Person Recertification Clinic – NOT REQUIRED